A couple of years ago, inspired by a meeting with a local ‘self-publishing expert’ I decided to have a go myself at putting my short stories, poems, and essays on Amazon/Kindle.

Over the previous few years I’d had several disappointing experiences with small press publishers that had accepted collections for publication, but not proceeded to actual publication! Their reasons might have been entirely understandable, but the outcome was frustrating. I also, around the same time, had a more pressing experience – involving a midnight ride in an ambulance – with the National Health Service, bless ‘em, which led to me being kitted out with a couple of stents. You get to watch, on a largish TV screen, the stents being inserted, which is fascinating, but the adverts are lousy.

A stent not only frees the arteries. It focuses the mind. With John Donne’s wingéd chariot rattling around in your sub-conscious you start to consider what it is you really want to do. I’ve been there before, twenty years ago, and fate, or whatever, obviously felt I needed a reminder.

Primarily I write to amuse myself, and sometimes I do! But I also do it to make some sort of connection with other people, and that means publication. Indie presses are great, and I’ve self-published the odd poetry pamphlet in the past. I even published a small collection of short stories, of which I still have a few copies left (Second Time Around, 2006). Publication is the last part of the writing process, and nowadays we don’t have to wait for someone else to do it for us, or to have the wealth that enabled authors to publish themselves in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The internet and online publishing programmes have sorted that out for us.

Of course, it means there is a metaphoric sea of unreadable tosh out there, into which we must jettison our own writing. But, publication is still the last part of the writing process, if the work is to be offered to others. I leaven my collections with material that has been published elsewhere, or has been performed, or won prizes or commendations. In fact the last poetry collection I published (An Early Frost, 2016) contained nothing that hadn’t been used, or prized, somewhere else! It doesn’t prove anything, of course, except that someone, perhaps a group of people somewhere, liked a particular piece for reasons known only to them, and not necessarily ones that chime in with your reasons for writing, but it’s perhaps a pennyweight in the decision making process: of whether or not the collection is worth a look.

Thankfully, it’s not my job to convince anybody of that, but I’m always pleased when somebody is convinced, and even more pleased when they go on to try to convince others.

Time is something that has formed a background theme to many of my stories, and poems (and even, in convoluted ways, some of the essays), and time, stents remind, us is running out. It’s running out from a reservoir the size of which we have no idea. I called it somewhere ‘a stick of indeterminate length being pulled from dark water’. We never know, until it happens (and perhaps not then), when the end of the stick will break the surface.

So, over the last year I have been publishing stories, and poems and essays ‘like there was no tomorrow’, which, like the horror stories of a bad winter to come that the press feeds us every year, will be true one today. I’d like to finish as much of the process before that day breaks.bookcoverpreview-tmt

