OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Stephen King in On Writing makes the interesting observation – among many – that writers, in reference to their own writing, don’t know what works, and don’t know what doesn’t. Tom Pow , the Scottish writer and tutor who helped drag me kicking and screaming through my M.Litt at Glasgow University’s Dumfries campus, put it more succinctly – You’ve Missed the F—-ing point! (Sadly, Tom, I still haven’t got it where that particular poem was concerned, but anyone who wants to listen to it – and perhaps get the point – can do so on Vimeo at BHDandMe. The poem: So Still). All this is the preamble to noting that I got a story into the early hours of this year’s National Flash Fiction Day Flash Flood http://flashfloodjournal.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/the-alibi-by-brindley-hallam-dennis.html   The Alibi was written several years ago, and I can remember the exact place where the idea occurred to me. It was near the gate, at Bank House above Ullswater, where the Rose Garden opened onto the car park. A lot of poems and stories came out of that garden one way or another. I don’t think The Alibi had ever been sent anywhere, but I can’t find it on my submission log to confirm that. Somebody at National Flash Fiction Day must have thought that it worked, and I suppose I have to admit to liking it myself – but, back to Stephen King – if it does work, I have no idea why, or how! Another F—-ing point I’ve missed! One theory might be that a story like this, which is really an eavesdropped conversation, works like eavesdropped conversations in real life do…by making us wonder what they meant, and where do they go to from here. Working as a groundsman in a Lakeland garden my head was often full of imaginary conversations – a form of catarrh one supposes – and I was always happy to listen to them….Then I’d sneak off to my shed and note them down…Whatever the mechanism, and whatever it does, BHDandMe are pleased to see this one up on the Flash Flood Journal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

